top of page
Search

I tried Kourtney Kardashian's DIY Avocado Hair Mask

Avocado’s are such a big deal these days, and I’m not only talking about my morning avocado toast, easy to make and simply delicious. It is more than just food, it’s a celebrity secret.


Kourtney Kardashians, now not-so-secret hair-mask is her technique to getting the shiniest, smoothest and healthiest hair. The best part, it requires 4 ingredients you already have in your kitchen. So, of course I had to try it. My hair is coloured, and according to every hairdresser “is thin but you have a lot of it.” I was excited to see what this mask would do.

The eldest Kardashian sister is known for her healthy living. She released her website, Poosh, to “educate, motivate, create, and curate a modern lifestyle, achievable by all.”

Her love for non-toxic and healthy products lead her to address Congressional Leaders about Cosmetics Legislation, pushing for personal care products to be tested for safety.

Inspired by her morning avocado smoothies, her hairstylist, Andrew Fitzsimons, who has also worked on some of the world’s most influential models such as Adriana Lima, Ashley Graham, Cara Delevigne and Karlie Kloss, made up a special remedy.

Ingredients:

· 1 and a ½ Avocados

· 2 Tbsp of olive oil

· 2 Tbsp. of Manuka honey

· ½ squeezed Lemon




Unfortunately, I didn’t have Manuka honey, so I used normal honey from the grocery store.

Tips:

· Blend all the ingredients together until you get a smooth texture.

· Wear an old shirt you don’t mind getting dirty.

· Make sure to brush your hair out before applying.

· Apply it over a sink as this hair-mask can get messy.

· Start by parting your hair, doing the underneath layer first and holding the rest up with a clip. This will make sure it’s evenly applied. Continue this step for all layers while combing it through hair.

· Massage it into your scalp to make the lemon juice target any dandruff or dry scalp issues you may have.

· Secure it into a bun and cover it with a shower cap, now leave for 45 minutes.

· After your timer has gone off, rinse it out.


After I had rinsed it, I let it air dry for a couple of hours. I still had a lot of residue at the top of my hair and had to then rinse it again, with shampoo and conditioner this time. After my second attempt, I had to speed up the process due to the cold Sydney weather and blow dry it.

Results

Overall, my hair feels softer and looks less frizzy. I would definitely try this mask again, but instead would mostly focus it on my ends and work its way up. However, I would avoid my roots and ditch the lemon juice and honey, and only use this as a hydrating mask, as the softness it left on my hair speaks for itself.

This was a great beauty experiment to try during self-isolation.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page